Subscribe for Special Offers

Holiday deliveries may take longer than usual. Order gifts early for on-time delivery.
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

As Daylight Dies

Killswitch Engage
As Daylight Dies


Be the first to review this product

Pre-order sold out. Get ‘em at your local record store 2/12/2021

Config/Selection: A / ROGV-111
Units per set: 2
UPC #: 081227906597
SRP: $34.98
Pre-order opens: 7/15/2020
Pre-order closes: 8/26/2020
Tentative street date: 1/29/2021


  • First time this title will be issued on vinyl in the US and only the second time this title has been issued on vinyl in almost 15 years
  • Expanded 2LP set features bonus tracks making their debut on vinyl   
  • Pressed on colored vinyl and comes in deluxe packaging
  • Limited to 6450 numbered copies, shipping in January 2021



Killswitch Engage is an American metalcore band from Westfield, Massachusetts formed in 1999 after the disbanding of bands, Overcast and Aftershock. Bassist Mike D’Antonio collaborated with Aftershock guitarist, Adam Dutkiewicz who switched to drums and recruited guitarist Joel Stroetzel from Aftershock and vocalist Jesse Leach from Nothing Stays Gold to form Killswitch Engage. The band’s name came from an episode of the TV series, The X-Files, entitled “Kill Switch,” after writer William Gibson titled the episode after meeting the industrial band Kill Switch…Klick. They recorded and released their self-titled debut in 2000 and although it was not commercially successful, it attracted the interest of Carl Severson, who worked at Roadrunner Records at the time. Realizing that Roadrunner had the resources to promote and distribute Killswitch Engage releases, the band accepted a signing offer, declining several others from smaller labels at the time. The band went on to issue 7 releases with Roadrunner from 2002 through 2016. They initially rose to fame with their 2004 release, The End Of Heartache, which peaked at number 21 on the Billboard 200 and was certified gold by the RIAA in 2007 for over 500,000 shipments in the U.S. The title track, “The End of Heartache” was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2005 for Best Metal Performance and they released a live DVD “(Set This) World Ablaze” in the same year. The band played the Reading and Leeds Festivals in August 2006, having already played Australian dates without Dutkiewicz, who was suffering from back problems and needed surgery. In May of that year their song “This Fire Burns” was released on the WWE Wreckless Intent album. The track was intended to be the new theme song for WWE wrestler, Randy Orton, however it was scrapped and later became the theme song for the WWE Judgement Day 2006 pay-per-view special. The song was later released as “This Fire” on the special edition of the band’s third Roadrunner studio album, “As Daylight Dies.” Recorded in 3 months, “As Daylight Dies,” was released on November 21, 2006 and peaked at number 32 on the Billboard 200 chart with 60,000 sales in its first week. The album proved to be one of the band’s biggest. It entered the Australian albums chart at number 29. Mixed by Dutkiewicz, the album received mostly positive reviews at the time. Thom Jurek at All Music Guide called it “a top five metal candidate for 2006 for sure.” Decibel Magazine contributor, Nick Terry, said “To call As Daylight Dies addictive would be an understatement.” “That it outdoes its already impressive enough predecessor could almost go without saying.” A year later, the album had sold more than 500,000 units in the US. The album’s first single, “My Curse,” peaked at #21 on the Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart and is featured in the video games Sleeping Dogs, Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock, Burnout Dominator and Burnout Paradise. The song “Arms Of Sorrow” peaked at #31 on the same chart. The band’s cover of Dio’s “Holy Diver,” originally recorded for a Kerrang! compilation, peaked at #12 on the Mainstream Rock charts and was finally included in the deluxe edition of the album as a bonus track. KSE has performed at festivals such as Soundwave, Wacken Open Air, Reading and Leeds Festivals, Ozzfest, Download Festival, Rock On The Range, Rock Am Ring, Mayhem Festival, Monsters Of Rock, Pointfest, Knotfest and Heavy MTL. The band has sold over four million records in the U.S., and has been considered notable within the New Wave of American Heavy Metal and has also been considered one of the earliest leading forces of the metalcore genre.


Track Listing

Side A

1 Daylight Dies 4:05

2 This is Absolution 3:34

3 The Arms Of Sorrow 3:44

4 Unbroken 3:08

Side B

1 My Curse 4:04

2 For You 4:03

3 Still Beats Your Name 3:19

4 Eye Of The Storm 3:56

Side C

1 Break The Silence 4:32

2 Desperate Times 4:25

3 Reject Yourself 4:45

Side D (bonus)

1 Be One 3:31

2 Let The Bridges Burn 4:29

3 This Fire 3:09

4 Holy Diver 4:10